• Invite Health
  • Posts
  • Q&A with Anabela Cotovio: Health Innovation, Translational Research at UofT, & more ⚙️

Q&A with Anabela Cotovio: Health Innovation, Translational Research at UofT, & more ⚙️

Learn about Anabela's journey and aspirations in health innovation

Welcome to the Invite Health newsletter. These newsletters will contain a roundup of student opportunities related to Canadian healthcare, including jobs, organizations, events, and more! We also highlight and interview students making an impact in Canadian healthcare. 💌

This week, I invited Anabela to share her experiences in health innovation. She is currently a student in the Translational Research Program at the University of Toronto, and has pitched her innovative ideas in competitions such as the Baycrest CABHI pitch competition. Read on to learn more about her experiences!

Q&A with Anabela Cotovio, Translational Research Program Student at the University of Toronto 💉

Headshot of Anabela

First off, tell us about yourself! What inspired you to enter your current field of study, where do you go to school, and what are your aspirations? What else do you like to do outside of studying? 

Hi! My name is Anabela Cotovio (she/her) but I often go by Bela :) I’d like to describe myself as someone who is friendly, optimistic and ambitious. I’m currently a first year graduate student studying Translational Research in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto. In my cohort, I work to address the gap between research findings and bettering clinical practice. In the program I “learn by doing” - having to get out there and talk to people showed me the importance of seeking my own answers and building my professional network. The program is also flexible in that I take courses while completing self-directed projects.

Let’s take it back to where it all started. In April 2022, I completed my Honors Bachelor of Health Sciences Degree at McMaster University. During my time in undergrad, I used my open electives to explore my interests. I came across INNOVATE 1X03 early on and the course opened my mind and heart to tackling problems in an academic setting. Finally finding a space that energized me, I chased other opportunities in the “real world” to validate my interests in innovation, entrepreneurship and research. This led to my long-term participation in the MacChangers Program, where I co-designed interventions to real problems affecting small business and users of public transportation in the Hamilton community. With my background in the health sciences, I was curious if I could find an intersection with my newfound interests. In perfect timing, a new course was introduced to me, HTHSCI 3PP3 Health Ventures. It fulfilled both my interests and knowledge of the health sciences. I finally saw my two worlds collide. 

The way I explained how I got to where I am seems linear - in reality, it was far from that. I didn’t mention my failures, pivots and redirection (that’s another topic). I want to share that my greatest lesson in all of this was to be persistent and open to trying new things, no matter how unfamiliar it can be. A lot of things didn’t stick for me and in the moment, I was impatient with wanted to find my “thing”. Eventually, with time and consistent effort, my path started making more sense to me. Opportunities won’t get handed to you, but trust that the right ones will eventually come and in the meantime learn as much as you can, meet new people and grow.

I hope to work at a healthcare capacity, ideally providing one-on-one care to patients. I hope to apply my problem-solving skills when making big health-care decisions for patients. My graduate program has also introduced me to careers where I can also have system-wide impact in the way Canadians receive care. My ultimate goal is to make the lives of those around me a little easier in times of need.

Outside of studying I enjoy playing team sports, dancing with friends on a night out and spending quality time with family (ideally by the ocean).

First day of my masters program :) (I was 3 weeks post op ACL surgery) but didn’t want to miss finally being back in person

What experience are you going to highlight in this newsletter?

Baycrest Health Sciences Centre for Aging + Brain Health Innovation (CABHI) Spark-CU Program, McMaster Nominated Team

In March 2021, my best friend and I submitted our proposal to tackle senior social isolation & loneliness and represent McMaster at Baycrest CABHI’s College and University-wide Pitch Competition. Shortly after, we were nominated to receive $5,000 and support including weekly coaching, industry/clinical support, and participation in McMaster Health Ventures Level 2 Certificate Program for the summer of 2021. These resources were crucial for turning our idea into a viable business for the Pitch Competition in August 2021.

How did you come across this opportunity? What did the application process entail?

This opportunity came from a university posting email sent by our research supervisor and professor Sarrah Lal. Having been taught/mentored by her in the past, my best friend and I were ecstatic to work more closely with her and learn transferable skills to produce successful projects in the real world. That being said - check your emails! A lot of times opportunities can be found right in front of us.

What were some of the most notable highlights that you had from the experience? 

A big lesson from my experience with designing interventions to problems is to always test our assumptions about others' needs. What seems an “obvious” need to us, might not be the same for others. The only way to discover the “truth” is to talk to the people you are innovating for and understand their perspectives.

Additionally, entrepreneurship involves being in a state of constant ambiguity and uncertainty. It's nearly impossible to know everything about something. Whatever it is that you are trying to improve may be constantly changing with context and time. Discovery, however, happens under these conditions. So take well-informed “risks” and go from there.

Did this experience lead you to pursue any other related opportunities? 

Yes! Thankfully, my graduate program connected me to other opportunities in this space. It’s been nice to dip my toes in Toronto’s innovation hub. I’m currently working in a team at the Ideation Clinic to design an intervention for problems related to spinal cord injuries. We are connected to business advisors and those with lived experiences at the Praxis Spinal Cord Institute.

Where can students go if they want to learn more about this program?

linkedin.com/in/anabela-cotovio → My LinkedIn

Anabela Cotovio on FB

trp.utoronto.ca → My grad program link

healthinnovation.mcmaster.ca → Where I completed the health ventures certificate program

cabhi.com → CABHI site for opportunities in brain innovation space

Is there anything else that you would like to add for Invite Health readers?

Book recommendation for health innovators and/or entrepreneurs: Lean Startup by Eric Reis

About Invite Health 💌

Invite Health is on a mission is to invite students to learn and participate in Canadian healthcare.

We write newsletters that feature a roundup of student opportunities (jobs, events, organizations, etc.) related to Canadian healthcare. We also interview students making an impact in Canadian healthcare.

More exciting things are coming soon, so stay tuned! 👀

How you can support Invite Health 🤝

  • Subscribe to our newsletter

  • Stay up to date with us on LinkedIn & Twitter

  • Share Invite Health with your friends

  • Send any student opportunities (jobs, events, organizations, etc.) related to Canadian healthcare to Sachi, for a chance to be featured in the newsletter

  • Suggest any feedback on how we can improve Invite Health by contacting us on any of our social media platform

Reply

or to participate.