Q&A with Angelique J 🏥

Learn about Angelique's experience as a Program Support Officer at Health Canada!

Welcome to the Invite Health newsletter. These newsletters will contain a roundup of student opportunities related to Canadian healthcare, including jobs, organizations, events, and more! We also highlight and interview students making an impact in Canadian healthcare. 💌

This week, meet Angelique! 📬

In this newsletter, I reached out to Angelique, to ask about her work experience at Health Canada. Read through our discussion here, to learn about the impactful work that she did!

Q&A with Angelique, Program Support Officer at Health Canada 🇨🇦

Angelique’s headshot in front of the popular six-storey living plant wall on the uOttawa campus!

First off, tell us about yourself! What inspired you to enter your current field of study, where do you go to school, and what are your aspirations? What else do you like to do outside of studying? 

Hi there! I’m Angelique (she/her), a fourth year Health Sciences student at the University of Ottawa. When applying to university while in high school, I was inspired to pursue my program as its interdisciplinary nature gave me the opportunity to explore a variety of my interests. I originally started my undergraduate studies with the intent to pursue a clinical career but taking courses in the social sciences fueled my hidden (even to me!) interest in the social determinants of health. That being said, I don’t currently have a specific career I am aspiring towards and have wrestled with defining my professional scope as a soon-to-be graduate. Instead, through my professional pursuits, I hope to address the aforementioned determinants such as homelessness and housing, poverty and unemployment among others. I’m still trying to figure out what that will look like in terms of my career trajectory!

Outside of studying, I love to pursue opportunities to develop as a young person whether professional or volunteer-based. As for hobbies, I enjoy spending time with family and friends, jamming to a good Spotify playlist, and keeping up with my favourite YouTubers.

What experience are you going to highlight in this newsletter?

Recently, I started working at Health Canada as a Program Support Officer. Health Canada is a department within the Government of Canada that is responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health by ensuring that high-quality health services are accessible, and by working to reduce health risks. As this is a paid student role, the position was full-time in the summer when I started and transitioned into a part-time position when I started classes again in the fall. I work in the Corporate Services Branch (CSB), specifically with programs promoting workplace wellness. This includes supporting department/agency-wide wellness campaign initiatives, case management and assisting in client meetings to address any workplace needs.

This might be something you hear often but there is an abundance of opportunities in the public service. Even within the main branches, offices and bureaus such as CSB, are smaller teams with specific focuses. And the great thing is you can move around, try different positions and even switch departments without having to start from square one (ex. moving from Health Canada to the Public Health Agency of Canada). If employment with the Government of Canada is something you’re interested in testing out, give it a shot!

How did you come across this opportunity?

I was considered for this position through the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP). FSWEP provides opportunities for full-time students at any level and program of study to gain experience in the federal public service. It’s described as a lottery as you, and students all over Canada, apply to an inventory which managers use to fill their available positions. If selected, you undergo an interview process and are hired if successful.

I first heard about FSWEP in Fall 2019 during my first semester at the University of Ottawa. I believe I applied around that time and my application wasn’t pulled until the end of my second year which speaks to the program's lottery-like nature. Generally speaking, students are encouraged to apply to FSWEP around two months before the start of term they’d like to be employed in. My tip: follow the GC Students social media accounts to be notified when the hiring periods begin.

What were some of the most notable highlights that you had from the experience? 

The Government of Canada wants every student to get valuable professional experience through their various student programs. I find this evident in the many supports my department offers to students such as young professional social events, mentorship opportunities and recurring professional development sessions. So far, I’ve been able to attend a networking session where I met with managers to practice and receive feedback on my elevator pitch in addition to a handful of social events where I was introduced to students from different departments in the Government of Canada. 

I’m also looking forward to attending an upcoming event called MegaConnEX that’ll connect young professionals like me with departmental executives for speed networking. There will also be a silent auction at which young professionals will have the opportunity to bid on mentoring sessions with executives with all proceeds going towards the Government of Canada Workplace Charitable Campaign.

In terms of skills, I have been improving my writing as I have been drafting documents and written communications shared with senior members on my team in addition to whole departments and agencies at times.

Did this experience lead you to pursue any other related opportunities? 

FSWEP itself is a great way of staying open to other related opportunities. Your application stays and is valid in the inventory as long as you are a full-time student. For reference, I transitioned from a similar role at the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to the one I now hold at Health Canada. If interested, I could continue hopping departments to gain new professional experiences. Luckily, it’s common for students to extend their contracts even leading to a full-time position after graduating.

Where can students go if they want to learn more about this program?

I’m also happy to answer questions via LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/angelique-jeanty/

Is there anything else that you would like to add for Invite Health readers?

The very fact that you’re reading and/or are subscribed to Sachi’s newsletter demonstrates your drive. Continue to explore your options by entertaining new interests and finding new challenges to solve! And read the other Invite Health Q&As for inspiration and insight if you haven’t already :)

About Invite Health 💌

Invite Health is on a mission is to invite students to learn and participate in Canadian healthcare.

We write newsletters that feature a roundup of student opportunities (jobs, events, organizations, etc.) related to Canadian healthcare. We also interview students making an impact in Canadian healthcare.

More exciting things are coming soon, so stay tuned! 👀

How you can support Invite Health 🤝

  • Subscribe to our newsletter

  • Stay up to date with us on LinkedIn & Twitter

  • Share Invite Health with your friends

  • Send any student opportunities (jobs, events, organizations, etc.) related to Canadian healthcare to Sachi, for a chance to be featured in the newsletter

  • Suggest any feedback on how we can improve Invite Health by contacting us on any of our social media platforms

Reply

or to participate.