Q&A with Samy Cheng šŸŽ

Learn about Samy's Summer Research Experience at University of Toronto's Department of Nutritional Sciences!

Welcome to the Invite Health newsletter. These newsletters will contain a roundup of student opportunities related to Canadian healthcare, including jobs, organizations, events, and more! We also highlight and interview students making an impact in Canadian healthcare. šŸ’Œ

This week, meet Samy Cheng! šŸ“¬

In this newsletter, I reached out to Samy Cheng, to ask about her experience as a Summer Research Student at University of Torontoā€™s Department of Nutritional Sciences. Read through our discussion here, to learn about the impactful work that she did!

Q&A with Samy Cheng, Summer Research Student at University of Torontoā€™s Department of Nutritional Sciences šŸŽ

A photo of Samy smiling at the Earth to Table Bread Bar!

First off, tell us about yourself! What inspired you to enter your current field of study, where do you go to school, and what are your aspirations? What else do you like to do outside of studying? 

Hi Invite Health readers! My name is Samantha, but you can call me Samy and I go by she/her pronouns. Iā€™m currently in my second year in the Bachelors of Health Sciences Program at McMaster University! Throughout highschool I was unsure of what path to takeā ā€”the easy choice was computer sciences, as both my parents are in the field. However, biology and chemistry courses sparked the greatest interest and curiosity in me. I found that the more I learned about the human body, the more it intrigued me! If asked about my aspirations, though I currently aim to pursue medicine, Iā€™m not quite sureā ā€”so Iā€™d rather say with confidence that I hope to grow the compassion and equity in my community. If Iā€™m not studying or working, I love to bake and cook, go on walks, do yoga, attend concerts, read, and watch K-dramas, although I wish I had more time for the last two! 

What experience are you going to highlight in this newsletter?

I was a summer research student assisting with the Feeding Kids, Nourishing Minds project! Specifically, we conducted parent/caregiver focus groups over the summer to gather insight on their perceptions on school food programs. I also conducted an accompanying content validity study to strengthen our focus group questions! This was a research opportunity with a stipend hosted by University of Torontoā€™s Department of Nutritional Sciences, which began May 2022 and ended August 2022. It required an application with a form, reference, cover letter, transcript, and a professor who agreed to supervise you. 

These are the few slides for my presentation at the end of the program in August, where I shared FKNMā€™s preliminary findings!

How did you come across this opportunity?

I came across this opportunity while cold emailing professors at UofT in the Department of Nutritionā ā€”they brought my attention to this opportunity, as my supervisor selected based on the applications they received! However, it took a lot of emailing. I began later than my peersā ā€”around Januaryā ā€”and by that time many professors were not looking for more summer students.

What were some of the most notable highlights that you had from the experience? 

Iā€™ve attended focus groups before as a participant, but this was my first time being involved as a researcher so it was so interesting to have that change in perspective. The discussions themselves were definitely the highlight of my experience! For context, the project is centered around nutrition and food insecurity among children. Canada is the only nation in the G7 (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States) without a national food program, as there is a critical gap in the research informing its most effective design and implementation. School food programs can significantly improve childrensā€™ health outcomes and mental well-being, mitigate hunger as a barrier to academic performance, alleviate food insecurity, and support local farmers. From my own experience in elementary school and lunch monitoring young children, students often bring convenient but low-nutrient foods (e.g. Lunchables, pizza pockets, mac and cheese) or sign up for optional weekly lunch programs, like Little Caesars or Subway. I even remember a child who ate white bread dipped in white sugar everyday, and many skipped breakfast! There are countless barriers to regularly consuming healthy, satiating, tasty, and culturally-sensitive foods, and many of these barriers can be combated through well-developed and well-funded food programs.

Thatā€™s where the Feeding Kids, Nourishing Mind projectā  steps in! By evaluating existing school food programs and various stakeholdersā€™ perspectives, like parents and school staff, we hope to drive the creation of a national school food policy in Canada. Incredibly exciting research if you ask me!

Background: Canada is the only country in the G7 without a national food program

These are the few slides for my presentation at the end of the program in August, where I shared FKNMā€™s preliminary findings!

Background: Why does a national school food program matter? Promotes physical and mental health. Contributes to student success. Alleviates food insecurity. Supports local economy.

These are the few slides for my presentation at the end of the program in August, where I shared FKNMā€™s preliminary findings!

Did this experience lead you to pursue any other related opportunities? 

If itā€™s not already clear, I love this project and was very happy with the overall experience! Hence, I asked if I can continue helping out throughout the school year and following summer, rather than pursuing other opportunities for the time being. I am continuing to help facilitate focus groups, this time for policymakers and private sector partners! 

Where can students go if they want to learn more about this program?

Is there anything else that you would like to add for Invite Health readers?

Itā€™s never too late to look for opportunities! Many have later applications, so donā€™t feel frustrated if everyone around you seems to have something to do in the summer, and you were out of the loop. Iā€™ve definitely been there myself and everyone around me eventually settled into a role they were happy with!

About Invite Health šŸ’Œ

Invite Health is on a mission is to invite students to learn and participate in Canadian healthcare.

We write newsletters that feature a roundup of student opportunities (jobs, events, organizations, etc.) related to Canadian healthcare. We also interview students making an impact in Canadian healthcare.

More exciting things are coming soon, so stay tuned! šŸ‘€

How you can support Invite Health šŸ¤

  • Subscribe to our newsletter

  • Stay up to date with us on LinkedIn & Twitter

  • Share Invite Health with your friends

  • Send any student opportunities (jobs, events, organizations, etc.) related to Canadian healthcare to Sachi, for a chance to be featured in the newsletter

  • Suggest any feedback on how we can improve Invite Health by contacting us on any of our social media platforms

Reply

or to participate.