• Invite Health
  • Posts
  • Using Research to Make a Difference for South Asian Communities

Using Research to Make a Difference for South Asian Communities

Interview with Tanveer Randhawa: Research Coordinator at St. Michael’s Hospital, MSc Student at the University of Waterloo, 4x Co-op Student

Welcome to Invite Health. If you’re aren’t already, please consider subscribing. You’ll never miss a newsletter, as all of them will be sent right to your inbox.

Invite Health is (and always will be) free. Your subscription goes a long way in showing that you enjoy and support Invite Health!

Message from Sachi

Hi friends,

I hope you’re having a busy & fulfilling July. I gave a talk this week at Shad Anywhere, a virtual summer program for some of Canada’s brightest high school students. It was a full circle moment and furthered my love for teaching. One of the most memorable parts was one of the facilitators telling me that she had read one of my Invite Health interviews before, and how it has helped her! So thank you so much, that comment made me so happy 🥰

I hope you all enjoyed reading last week’s interview with Rubaina as well. She’s been making a lot of great content on LinkedIn recently with programming resources for students & why it’s important to have a personal brand as a life sci student so would recommend connecting with her!

This week, I invited Tanveer to share her story. Tanveer is an aspiring health professional with a wide range of healthcare experiences accumulated from her journey at the University of Waterloo. Today you’ll learn:

  • Tanveer’s various (paid) public health and clinical research roles focussing on maternal health, Punjabi communities health, and more

  • How Tanveer landed her paid position as the Research Coordinator for Punjabi Kids' Health at St. Michael’s Hospital (Toronto) using LinkedIn

  • Tanveer’s experience as a Waterloo student, both as a BSc Honours Health Sciences (co-op) undergrad to now as a MSc student in Public Health Sciences

Enjoy today’s read,

Sachi 💌 

Using Research to Make a Difference for South Asian Communities: Interview with Tanveer Randhawa

Headshot of Tanveer

First off, tell us about your journey so far. Where do you study, what inspired you to pursue this, and what’s next? What else do you like to do outside of studying?

Hello! ◡̈ My name is Tanveer Kaur Randhawa (she/her), and I am just finishing up my first year of my Masters of Science (MSc) in Public Health Sciences at the University of Waterloo, accompanied by a Research Graduate Field in Aging and Health. I hold a Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Honours Health Science, with a Medical Physiology Minor, Pre-Clinical Specialization, & Co-Op from the University of Waterloo (Class of 2023); I also graduated with a Diploma in Gerontology.

My research interests are multidisciplinary in nature and include a focus on the mental health of South Asian adolescents, maternal-child health, healthcare informatics and aging technology, and the interplay between healthy aging, long-term care, and healthcare policy. As a qualitative researcher, my master's thesis is an intersectional exploration and analysis focusing on immigrant Punjabi women residing in the Region of Peel, and their experiences of menopause and accessing relevant resources and services in the Canadian healthcare system. This research will aim to look at the role that culture, ethnicity and community has on shaping these unique experiences. This novel research will aim to examine the impacts of cultural beliefs, practices, and social factors on the perception, management, and healthcare experiences of menopause among women of South Asian Punjabi descent within the Region of Peel. As an immigrant myself, I recognize the limitations and barriers that exist within the current system; this is the reason why I am passionate about improving the health and well-being of individuals of all ages in marginalized communities, and I am dedicated to breaking barriers by advocating for a healthier future.

For as far back as I can remember, I have always been passionate about healthcare and the field of medicine - and, accompanied by this, I have always been an overachiever. These are two things that are prevalent in my academic and professional life so far. Touching on the professional aspect now, I have had the privilege to have worked for numerous organizations, in part due to being in the Co-Op program at the University of Waterloo. Through my four paid Co-Op work terms, I worked for Trillium Health Partners as a Project Analyst for their GoLive EPIC transition project, the University of Waterloo as an Assistant Coordinator for the School of Public Health’s (SPHS) Professional and Research Graduate Programs, the Region of Peel as Community Clinic Administration and Operational Support for their COVID-19 Vaccination clinics, and lastly for the University Health Network as their EPIC HIS Synapse Project EUD Coordinator & Support Analyst. Alongside my many club and extracurricular involvements, namely the President for Soch UW Mental Health, Vice President of Sponsorship for Women in Healthcare UW, and a Faculty of Health Ambassador, I volunteered as a Research Assistant working with many undergraduate and graduate students on their theses. This is where my involvement with research began! Unfortunately, due to the many extra additions to my BSc degree that I undertook, I did not have enough course space to do an undergraduate thesis - but I always had great ideas for research studies. The lack of research experience in undergrad fuelled my involvement with research, both academically and professionally, post-undergrad.

I currently wear multiple hats and represent multiple amazing organizations! Due to the way the MSc program at the University of Waterloo is structured, all incoming graduate students work as Graduate Teaching Assistant (TA) for undergraduate courses within the Faculty of Health - one for the fall semester (September - December) and one for the winter semester (January - April). I was a Teaching Assistant for HLTH 341 - Principles of Pathobiology with Dr. Narveen Jandu and for HLTH 310 - Development, Aging, and Health with Dr. Diane Williams.

As soon as I started my master's, I instantly began my search for some part-time or full-time positions within the realm of research in healthcare or aging. I began this journey as a paid Mitacs Accelerate Research Assistant at the Ubiquitous Lab (UbiLab) at the University of Waterloo where I currently assist multiple different projects that look at AgeTech, Active Assisted Living and Aging in Place through the development of Standards and Guidelines for design and evaluation. Through this, I had the opportunity to collaborate with representatives from the National Research Council of Canada (NRC), the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) and AGE-WELL. I also had the amazing opportunity to publish my work on the scoping review we undertook (as the third author on the paper!) in the Journal of Medical Internet Research (JMIR) - marking my first research publication. This paper is currently under peer review, but can be found as a Preprint here! As a second phase of the scoping review, I am currently leading a grey literature review paper that will be published later this year.

From here, I then took on the opportunity to work as a Research Coordinator I for the Punjabi Kids’ Health Chapter of the Our Kids’ Health Program, housed in the Pediatric Research Department at St. Michael’s Hospital, Unity Health Toronto. I will discuss more about this involvement in a later question - but this work is extremely fulfilling and is the perfect avenue for me to do some much-needed work for the Punjabi community. Through my work as a Research Coordinator I within the Pediatric Research Department, I internally took on the opportunity to assist with a research study that is somewhat clinical in nature. This research study is part of the Women & Children’s Health Program within the Department of Pediatrics at St. Michael’s Hospital, Unity Health Toronto. This study, titled Access to Primary Care Physicians Among Newborns (PCAN), is being conducted within the Obstetrics & Gynaecology department. This study is led by Dr. Sloane Freeman (Primary Investigator), Dr. Michael Sgro (Co-Investigator), and Dr. Thivia Jegathesan (Co-Investigator). Through my involvement I get the pleasure of visiting parents and caregivers of newborn babies, before they are discharged, to examine whether they have access to a primary care provider for themselves and their newborn baby. The primary objective of this study is to determine the proportion of families who do not have access to a primary care healthcare professional for their newborn, shortly after birth, and the secondary objective of this study is to determine the association between parent/caregiver demographic factors (i.e. income, education, age, ethnicity/race, immigration status, housing status, etc.), and their access to a primary care physician for their newborn, shortly after birth. This data is linked to the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES) and will help researchers determine the association between having access to a primary care physician and Emergency Department (ED) visits within the first five years of life.

I recently took on the paid role of a Community Organization worker with an organization by the name Laadliyan Celebrating & Empowering Daughters. Laadliyan is a non-profit organization that inspires South Asian girls and women of all ages to become empowered individuals through engagement, education, and awareness. In my role, I am involved in a variety of projects and tasks, all centered around Laadliyan's impactful community work with young girls, international students, and women of all ages. I have actively participated in community engagement events such as workshops at a local Brampton high school and community fairs at Sheridan College. The high school workshops aimed to educate and empower girls on essential skills like organization and goal setting, crucial for helping them achieve their dreams and aspirations. Additionally, I have contributed to the development of an Employment Readiness Manual for female international students and Training Modules for employers in the Region of Peel who hire female international students. These resources are based on insights gathered from previous focus group discussions. Beyond these activities, I have been reaching out to small businesses within the community to seek support for Laadliyan's upcoming Annual Gala in September.

On the academic side, alongside my personal research interests and my master's thesis, I have been dedicated to taking on what I like to call ‘personal projects’ in the area of mental health and its intersection with teen and adolescent health, and perinatal and prenatal maternal health. I have taken all of my research projects (thesis and personal projects included) to a total of seven conferences across Canada - all within one year. I noticed that this is exactly what was missing during my undergrad - research projects and the opportunities to take that research to conferences. I took this gap in my academic and professional life so seriously (lol!) that I am now doing everything and anything I can to fill in that gap and take advantage of every opportunity that comes my way (within reason, of course!).

I currently also volunteer my time as a Crisis Responder with Kids' Help Phone and as part of the Mental Health and Wellbeing Committee and the Social Committee with the Graduate Student Association at the University of Waterloo. With a strong academic background and hands-on experience in research and community health, I aim to make a significant impact in the realm of Public Health, striving to create a healthier and more equitable future for all.

This is a recent picture of the Laadliyan Celebrating and Empowering Daughters team. Manvir Bhangu (pictured bottom centre) is the Founder & Executive Director of Laadliyan Celebrating and Empowering Daughters. From the top left is: Sursattie Raghunandan (Social Media & Digital Marketing Coordinator), Tanveer Randhawa (Community Organization Worker), Prabhjot Kaur (Program Manager), Harmeet Kaur (Executive Assistant), Jaskiran Shoker (Partnership Development Lead), and Sumeet Shergill (Program Coordinator). 

Can you tell us about your experience as a Research Coordinator for Punjabi Kids' Health at St Michael’s Hospital? What is the organization, what is your role (paid/unpaid)? How did you discover this position? What are some of your favourite parts about the role?

I am the Research Coordinator for Punjabi Kids' Health, which is a part of the Our Kids' Health Network, within the Department of Pediatrics at St. Michael's Hospital. Our Kids' Health (OKH) is a platform for BIPOC and equity-deserving communities to obtain culturally relevant, representative, and inclusive evidence-based health information to help them make the best decisions for themselves and their families. We use social media to deliver translated, adapted, and evidence-based health information to families across 10 cultural-linguistic communities.

In my role, I work alongside the providers (doctors and healthcare professionals) for the Punjabi Kids’ Health (PKH) chapter. I am involved in creating a content schedule, organizing scripts based on the topics, campaigns and special days for an entire month, editing videos, creating infographics, and managing our social media pages. I am also involved in some community based research projects through which we focus on the involvement of intersectionally marginalized individuals within the Punjabi community, as a means of giving them a voice, hearing their wants and needs, and identifying areas through which we can make meaningful contributions.

This paid position was discovered on LinkedIn as a job posting and I rushed to apply! I truly believe that what is meant to be yours will always find a way back to you - it was the same with this job. I actually applied twice to this position! The first time around, I was not hired as I was just starting my MSc at the University of Waterloo and there were some concerns with the amount of time that I would be able to commit to my role at OKH and my academics. I did not let that stop me from achieving what I set my mind to. I turned on notifications for a job posting that had anything to do with Our Kids’ Health and Punjabi Kids’ Health. A few months later, it was to my surprise that the exact same position had opened up again! I applied for a second time, and this time I reached out directly to the Program Manager who had initially interviewed me, checked my references and followed up with me the first time I applied. With some free time during the second semester of my MSc, I was fortunate enough to have been offered the position of Research Coordinator I for Punjabi Kids’ Health at Our Kids’ Health.

Some of my favourite parts of my role include the community impact and the cultural relevance of this impact, the opportunity to collaborate and work within a multidisciplinary team, and the ability to professionally develop my skills. Knowing that the work I do directly impacts the health and well-being of Punjabi children and their families is incredibly rewarding. I am able to see tangible improvements in health outcomes through engagement numbers - which tells me that there is an increase in knowledge translation and awareness within the community. Alongside this, having the realization that I am able to help bridge the gap between mainstream health information and the specific needs and cultural preferences of the Punjabi community is a fulfilling experience. Translating materials, adapting messages, and incorporating cultural traditions and practices into health promotion effects are just a small portion of the role. Alongside this, having the ability to work within a multidisciplinary team of researchers, healthcare professionals, community organizations, stakeholders, and directly with the public from our social media platforms, I have had invaluable opportunities for learning, growing and simply collaborating. The relationships and partnerships that I have built within the community are enriching to the core - and they form the basis of what is yet to come! Lastly, engaging in content creation (& allowing my inner artist to shine), research projects, data analysis, and program evaluation has enhanced my skills and knowledge in the realms of public health, pediatric research, and community engagement.

Recently, The Our Kids' Health team had the incredible honour of being invited to the Senate of Canada by the Honourable Senator Sharon Burey. In front of the entire Senate, we were recognized for our impactful work and were invited to stand. Senator Burey delivered a powerful statement about the importance of parity between physical and psychological health care, the significance of Our Kids Health and the profound impact we’ve had on families across diverse backgrounds. Senator Burey described Our Kids Health as a "global social-media-based health initiative that offers accessible, reliable and relevant child health information, including mental health information, to families of diverse backgrounds.” In the words of Senator Burey, "I am convinced that when we truly put our minds, talents and resources together, there is no problem we can’t solve. Innovative solutions such as Our Kids’ Health Network connect the dots and point the way to achieving parity of esteem and equity in our health care systems." We were also joined by Senator Mohamed-Iqbal Ravalia, Senator Flordeliz (Gigi) Osler, Senator Margo Greenwood, Senator John McNair, and Senator Marie-Françoise Mégie who graciously provided us with the opportunity to discuss the sustainability and growth of our programs to reach even more families. We are deeply grateful for this recognition and remain committed to providing essential health information to families worldwide. Senator Burey's full statement can be found here.

Overall, my role as a Research Coordinator for Punjabi Kids' Health is both fulfilling and impactful - it contributes to the broader mission of promoting health equity and empowering marginalized communities to make informed decisions about their health and well-being. Have you noticed a trend? Majority of the work I do both professionally and academically is dedicated to exactly this! Empowering marginalized communities.

This is a recent picture of the Our Kids’ Health team when we were invited to the Senate of Canada by the Honourable Senator Sharon Burey. Dr. Ripudaman Singh Minhas (pictured fifth from the left) is the Founder and Project Lead of Our Kids’ Health. In this picture from left to right are: Iryna Dvoretska (Ukrainian Kids’ Health), Alicia Segovia (Hispanic Kids’ Health), Tanveer Randhawa (Punjabi Kids’ Health), Assel Al-Bayati (Arabic Kids’ Health), Dr. Ripudaman Singh Minhas (Our Kids’ Health), Senator Margo Greenwood, Senator Mohamed-Iqbal Ravalia, Senator Marie-Françoise Mégie, Noor Dhanda, Senator John McNair, Michelle Au (Cantonese Kids’ Health, Mandarin Kids’ Health), Blessing Nkennor (Black Kids’ Health).

Tell us about your experience as a MSc Public Health Sciences student at the University of Waterloo!  Can you talk about what the application process/timeline was like, what the program format was like, and some highlights from the course? Did you apply to any other grad schools?

My experience as both an undergraduate and graduate student at the University of Waterloo has been nothing but positive. I come with an internal bias of Waterloo (positive things of course!) but this is also just my comfort with the area, the people, and the faculty itself. When applying to grad schools, I applied to the University of Waterloo, Western University, and the University of Toronto. Ultimately, I chose to go with the Masters of Science (MSc) in Public Health Sciences at the University of Waterloo because of the familiarity I had with the university, but also because of the opportunity to work in Dr. Elena Neiterman’s lab! Dr. Neiterman is one of my favourite professors at Waterloo and the work she does aligns perfectly with my interests! While preparing my application for grad school, it was suggested that students should secure a supervisor before being considered eligible to receive an officer of admission. I instantly knew that I wanted to work with Dr. Neiterman, and so I emailed her informing her of my interest in applying and my interest in working with her - asking her whether she would be interested in being my supervisor. I was delighted to hear that Dr. Neiterman was equally as excited to work with me!

Admission requirements for the Master of Science (MSc) in Public Health Sciences include the following:

  • Completion of a four-year Honours Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) with a minimum 75% average.

  • Undergraduate experience and coursework in behavioural, biological, developmental, health, or social sciences.

  • English language proficiency (ELP) if applicable.

  • 2 references (preferably faculty members)

Required application materials for this program include:

  • Curriculum vitae

  • Supplementary information form indicating your reason for pursuing graduate studies and research interests

  • Transcript(s)

  • A writing sample of previous academic work

The way the program is formatted makes it extremely balanced and do-able. The minimum requirement are for students to take 5 courses in total (3 required and 2 free electives). Topics for the required courses range from regression/statistical models, epidemiological methods, research methods, and qualitative research methodologies. Students are expected to obtain an average of 75% or higher and grades on all courses must be 70% or higher in order to pass. Students are also given the option to pursue different graduate research fields such as Aging and Health, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Global Health, Health and Environment, Health Evaluation, Health Informatics, and Work and Health. These research graduate fields are university credentials that are recognized as part of an in-depth study in a particular area of interest. Each research graduate field comes with its own set of required and recommended courses that are needed in order to fulfill the requirements of each graduate field.

These are the courses that I completed:

  • HLTH 601 Lifespan Determinants of Health and Disease

  • HLTH 606A Epidemiological Methods

  • HLTH 625 Foundations of Qualitative Research Methodologies

  • HLTH 630 Advanced Geriatric Medicine and Healthcare

  • HLTH 720 Independent Reading Course

Alongside these courses, we also took 2 Graduate Seminars - 1 during the first semester, and the other during the second semester. The Graduate Seminar during the first semester was formatted in a way where we had 2 guest lectures each week - both on the same day our Seminar was scheduled. The Graduate Seminar during the second semester was formatted in a way that completely turned the classroom around - the students were the ones delivering the 2 lectures. The other courses are all structured differently - some are content-heavy while others rely on discussions, assignments, and presentations. The class sizes are small - typically around the 20 - 25 students range. Definitely a throwback to grade school!

Please refer to the University of Waterloo’s website with all the information you need for applying to this program here.

What advice do you have for readers looking to land their first position, especially if they don’t feel that they have enough “experience” yet? What resources and tips have helped you on your journey? 

Landing your first job can indeed be a daunting and overwhelming task, particularly if you feel like you're lacking in experience. However, I've always believed that a lack of experience should be viewed as an abundance of time to explore your true interests and passions. Throughout my life, I've been surrounded by advocates of the 'quality over quantity' philosophy. While it's tempting to cast a wide net and apply to every opportunity available, true fulfillment and success come from engaging in positions and opportunities that you genuinely find valuable and enjoyable.

So, how do you go about securing your first position? There is no one-size-fits-all answer, and no foolproof step-by-step guide. However, here are some valuable tips I've gleaned from years of trial and error that can help you navigate this journey:

  1. Harness the Power of Volunteering and Internships (Including Unpaid Ones!). Volunteering with community organizations, non-profits, or projects related to your field can provide relevant experience for your resume. Unpaid internships, while sometimes financially challenging, offer invaluable experience and networking opportunities. They can also often act as a stepping stone to paid positions.

  2. Optimize Your Resume and Highlight Transferable Skills. Your resume is a dynamic document that should be continually updated. Focus on emphasizing skills and measurable achievements from previous jobs, projects, or extracurricular activities that align with the job you're applying for. Customize your resume and cover letter for each application, ensuring your skills and experiences match the job description. Honesty is crucial; employers may request references or tangible proof such as transcripts.

  3. Build a Portfolio and Establish an Online Presence. If you haven't already, create a LinkedIn account. Use this platform to develop and maintain an online portfolio showcasing your academic and professional accomplishments. Regularly update it with events you attend, presentations you give, and connections you make. LinkedIn is also a valuable resource for job postings, internship opportunities, and volunteer positions. Additionally, it allows you to directly connect with hiring managers and members of hiring teams.

  4. Network, Network, Network! Attend conferences, seminars, and community events related to your field. Engage with professionals and like-minded individuals, and establish meaningful connections. Networking is an excellent way to learn more about your field, gain insights into the daily work involved, and receive valuable tips and advice. Networking can also lead to potential job leads. By showing up and demonstrating interest, you build a reputation and image for yourself. Sometimes, standing out in a crowd of applicants is as simple as being present and engaged.

Remember, the journey to your first job is a unique path filled with opportunities to learn and grow. Embrace the process, remain persistent, and stay true to your passions and interests. Your first position is not just a job; it's a stepping stone towards a fulfilling career! Never give up, and never underestimate the value of any position, regardless of how prestigious or humble it may seem. Every role offers an opportunity to learn, grow, and build your experience, paving the way for future success.

Where can students go if they want to learn more about your experiences?

If you have any questions about my journey, my experiences, my involvement, or if you’re looking to connect further, please feel free to reach out and send me a message on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/tanveerrandhawa

I also have an Instagram page dedicated to everything research, involvement, and my master's journey!: @itstanveerrandhawa

You can also check out my website, which I try my best to update regularly!: https://www.tanveerrandhawa.com

If you’re comfortable reaching out via email, you can contact me at [email protected]

Jobs, Opportunities & Resources 💻️ 

Most of these are reposted on Invite Health’s LinkedIn page. Sharing for information, not as endorsement.

About Invite Health 💌 

I started Invite Health for my younger self who was trying to figure out what to do with my health sci degree that wasn’t a career in medicine.

Today, I’d say this quote is the primary reason I continue to build Invite Health:

“Talent is everywhere, opportunity is not”

The mission of Invite Health is to close this talent-opportunity gap for students in the life and health sciences.

Since 2022, we’re the leading resource for students figuring out what to do with a life sci / health sci degree. I interview students pursuing diverse careers in healthcare, and how they got there - no gatekeeping here. Every newsletter is rich with resources and insights.

Our main channel is this newsletter, and I occasionally share resources on social media (LinkedIn and Instagram).

You can read more about why I built Invite Health here

Get the most out of Invite Health 🫶

  1. Connect with the interviewees: At the end of every newsletter, the interviewees leave their contact information for you to contact them. In your message, mention that you learned about their journey through Invite Health, and that you’re curious to learn more!

  2. Share the word: Share Invite Health with your friends and networks. Start a conversation about something you learned- an opportunity, a piece of advice, or a recommendation that an interviewee made.

  3. Bet on yourself: Apply to the opportunities that are shared in the newsletters. You have nothing to lose, and so much to gain. Circling back to point #1 - always reach out to the interviewees if you want advice!

You 🤝 Invite Health

Enjoyed this newsletter? Forward it to a friend, and let me know by commenting on our social media posts

Was this newsletter forwarded to you? Subscribe to Invite Health for free

Have feedback? Reply to this email, or fill out this feedback form

Want to advertise a job or event in Invite Health? Reply to this email or connect with me on LinkedIn

Read all of Invite Health’s past interviews

Made with 💝 & 🍵 by Sachi

Reply

or to participate.